The picturesque district of the fishermen, striated with small paved streets of rollers black and swarming with small taverns, extends towards the east. By the rua Santa Maria, one arrives close to strong São Tiago then at the church Santa Maria Maior which draws up its frontage below a planted esplanade of mimosas.
The church Sainte Marie Majeure (or Igreja de Socorro) dates from the 18th century, but it is in this coloured district of Santa Maria, in the middle of the “Old city”, which the settlement of the Madeira began, at the beginning of the 15th century.
Its elegant frontage baroque with the volutes of black lava underlining the white rough coat, is bored of a severe gate. Inside, to notice the painted ceiling, in cradle.
Each May 1st, the church is the starting point of processions of thanksgiving in honor of the apostle Saint-Jacob the Minor, in achievement of a wish formed in 1538 so that cease the epidemic of plague which devastated Funchal.
The gate baroque of black lava opens without surprised in the rough-cast frontage of white. Inside, the glowing executives of gildings fixed on the walls make forget their paintings…
The lane Santa Maria, traced in 1430, is the oldest street of the city.
The largo do Socorro which precedes the church follows the sea. Since the view-point (miradouro), the glance plunges on the small gravel place and the beach of Barreirinha, arranged with floating toboggans and a swimming pool; the bougainvilleas climb along brick columns of the pergola, and inevitable the azulejos papers the low wall.
Largo of Corpo Santo
Charming small square arranged in front of the vault of Corpo Santo, it is the heart of the Funchal old man and becomes animated at the time of meal when its fish restaurants fill.
The capela do Corpo Santo, vault of fishermen, have a gate presenting of very beautiful ornaments manuélins cut in the stone; the interior contains naive paintings having the sea for subject.