Menu of this site

The town of Selva in Majorca

Edited page
Topics[Photos] [Presentation] [Location] [Visits] [Culture] [Practical Information] [Other topics]

[Previous topics] [Balearic Islands] [Parent topics] [Next topics] [Via Gallica]


General presentationGeneral presentation
City Selva Mallorca - Selva view from the hermitage of Santa Magdalena in Inca. Click to enlarge the image.Selva is a small farming and artisanal town at the foot of the Serra de Tramuntana in the island of Majorca. The city has a population of about 2,000 inhabitants and is part of the County of Raiguer.

The city patron saint Laurent whom the parish church is dedicated.

EtymologyEtymology and toponymy
The name derives from the name of Selva a town called Silva (forest) already in Roman times. A firm named in Xilva was here during the Moorish occupation.


City Selva Mallorca - Location Selva Mallorca (author Joan M. Boras). Click to enlarge the image.The town of Selva is distant 32 km from the island capital, Palma de Mallorca, and 4 km Inca in the south.

City Selva Mallorca - Selva view from the hermitage of Santa Magdalena in Inca. Click to enlarge the image.The municipality of Selva borders the towns of Campanet northeast, of Búger to the east, of Inca south, of Lloseta southwest, of Mancor de la Vall west and Escorca north west.


Other topicsOther topics

Filiation of the topics
Balearic Islands > Majorca > County of Raiguer > Selva
More detailed topics
Close topics
The town of Alcúdia in Majorca
The town of Selva in Majorca
The town of Campanet in Majorca
The town of Búger in Majorca
The town of Sa Pobla in Majorca
The town of Inca in Majorca
The town of Binissalem in Majorca
The town of Alaró in Majorca
Broader topics
Balearic Islands
Interactive Map of the island of Majorca
The island of Majorca - Booklet of the OET
The island of Majorca - Booklet of hikes
The island of Majorca - Booklet of Roads of crafts
The island of Majorca - Booklet of gastronomy
The island of Majorca - Map of public transport
The island of Majorca in the Balearic Islands - The History
The County of Palma de Mallorca
The County of Serra de Tramuntana in Majorca
The county of Raiguer in Majorca
The County of the Plain of Majorca (Pla de Mallorca / Llanura de Mallorca)
The County of Levant (Llevant / Levante) in Majorca
The County of Mid-day (Migjorn) in Majorca
[Previous topics] [Parent topics] [Next topics] [Minorca] [Majorca] [Ibiza] [Formentera] [Cabrera] [Home page] [Balearic Islands] [Via Gallica]
Search on this Site
Search on the Web
Recommend this page
Recommend this site
AlbanieAllemagneAngleterreArméniePays basqueBiélorussieBulgarieCatalogneCroatieDanemarkEspagneEstonieFinlandeFranceGalicePays de GallesGéorgieGrèceHongrieIrlandeIslandeItalieEmpire romainLettonieLithuanieMacédoineMalteNorvègePays-BasPolognePortugalRoumanieRussieSerbieSlovaquieSlovénieSuèdeTchéquieUkraïne
If you reached this frame directly, click on this link to reveal the menus.