| The Count’s Tower (Torre del Conde)|
|The Count’s Tower, which is located in the center of the bay, alone in the city park, is a fortress that was built between 1447 years and 1450 by the Count of La Gomera, Hernán Peraza the Elder, two years after that he had conquered La Gomera. The tower is a massive fortification built in the Spanish style, with a square base, made of red brick, clearly visible in the four corners, and topped with white in the center of the facades, they bare except for a small door height of four turrets at the top and a few loopholes.|
This tower was witness to a particularly painful period in the history of La Gomera (the cruel Spanish conquest and violent subjugation of indigenous peoples). During a rebellion of indigenous of the island, it was a refuge for the Spaniards.
The son of the conqueror Hernán Peraza the Younger, then ruled the island with his wife, the beautiful Beatriz de Bobadilla, former mistress of King Ferdinand of Aragon. He had married her on the orders of Queen Isabella of Castile in exchange for its bleaching in the murder of Juan Rejun, conqueror of Gran Canaria. But Peraza the Younger behaved tyrant was assassinated in 1488 by the Guanches. Beatriz then escaped the indigenous revolt taking refuge with her children in the Torre del Conde. The Spanish troops of Gran Canaria carried him relief and ended the uprising in blood.
The tower was part of the fortifications of the city and remains the only vestige. Often attacked by pirates, strengthened in 1587, it was never taken.
She then served as a warehouse for the riches brought back from America.
This building, which has kept its original appearance, is now the emblem of military architecture of the Canaries.
Today is a pre-Columbian museum.
Visit from 10 am to 13 pm 30 30.
| The Church of Our Lady of the Assumption (Iglesia de Nuestra Señora de la Asunción)|
|Following the Calle del Medio, we soon encounter on the right the Church of Our Lady of the Assumption dating from the fifteenth century.|
Its original construction date of 1450, but a fire and devastation in the attacks of pirates in the sixteenth century, destroyed by much. The church, which was originally a small chapel was rebuilt in the eighteenth century. The mixture of styles, Gothic, Baroque and Mudejar, is particularly interesting.
The Assumption Church is a collection of anonymous painters paintings of the sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth century, a crucifixion of Lujan Perez, and beautiful altarpieces.
The left gate, the Puerta del Pardon, recalls the popular uprising that followed the murder of Hernán Peraza the Younger in 1488. His widow, Beatriz de Bobadilla, indeed promised pardon to all rebels who pass under its arch. This offer allowed especially to identify the culprits who were quickly put to death.
Christopher Columbus and his crew are heard mass before embarking for America.
| The Saint Sebastian chapel (Ermita de San Sebastián)|
|The San Sebastian hermitage is a graceful chapel dating from 1540 which is at the heart of the main street, the Calle del Medio.|
The porch opens to a nave of a span of 11 m long with only a small chapel.
Although it is not particularly fascinating and rich in architectural details, it is among the oldest buildings in the archipelago.
| The house of Aguada (Casa de la Aguada)|
|On the Plaza de la Constitución, one can admire the Casa de la Aguada, a very old building - beautifully refurbished - in colonial style typical of the Canaries. The wells in the Aguada (Pozo de Colón) nestled in its patio is the well in which Columbus and his men remade their water before crossing the Atlantic. The bronze plate on this well confirms: "It is with this water that America was baptized."|
In the past, this building was the residence of the counts Peraza and customs, which explains the other names that have been attributed to him, Casa Condal and Casa de la Aduana. Part of the house is dedicated to Columbus.
It now houses the tourism office of the city.
Visit Monday through Saturday, 8 am 30-18 pm, Sundays from 10 am to 13 pm.
| The house of Columbus (Casa de Colón)|
|This building is located in Calle Real where apparently stayed Christopher Columbus before setting sail for the Americas. The modest building was built long after the visit of the Spanish explorer and now houses a kind of museum that traces his life.|
The Columbus House is the seat of exhibitions and events, especially during the “Week of September 6” (from Christopher Columbus to discover America, September 6, 1492).
Visit to No. 60 in the Rue Royale (temporarily closed).
| The range of the Cave (Playa de la Cueva)|
|The range of the Grotto, newly installed sandy beach, located on the edge of San Sebastián, allows you to admire the Teide on the neighboring island of Tenerife.|
|The port, well protected by a huge dike that closes much of the bay, receives ferries and hydrofoils connecting Tenerife to La Gomera and, recently, has a very modern yachting marina.|
This is the port through which passed Columbus on his voyages to the Americas.
|The municipality of San Sebastián de La Gomera is the aboriginal township Hipalán, with the Barranco de Santiago.|
The island’s capital was extended from two poles, the Casa de los Peraza and the Iglesia de la Asunción, which will be assembled by the camino real, the future Calle Real, the main street of the island.
The first cartographic document of San Sebastián date a century and a half after its foundation, and already has the city in a very similar appearance to keep it for the next three centuries. Port activity and its derivatives (taverns, inns, and artisan shops) played an essential role in this rapid development.
Around 1588-1590, the population of the city was 625 inhabitants for 125 houses.
Around 1599, a group of Dutch tried to invade the island through the port of San Sebastián. They were rejected by gomeros.
In the eighteenth century began a slow but steady development, and at the 1802 census, the city had 1,800 inhabitants.
In the nineteenth century, the limits of the agglomeration exceeded the Chapel of San Sebastián, extending to the plains Tanquito.
|This is La Gomera Columbus stopped before its long journey to the New World, and still at every step and everywhere you look arises, traces of its presence are living longer than ever .|
The passage of Christopher Columbus in La Gomera was a welcomed event by the lords of the island, which brought him the help he needed for his wood supply, water and food. From here he went to explore the unknown, September 6, 1492. After his first trip, he passed again twice the island, but during his last voyage he did not anchored in the bay of San Sebastián.
|The economy based in the past, agriculture is facing nowadays, towards the service sector.|
|The Hotel Conde de la Gomera|
|The Parador National, “Conde de La Gomera ," probably the most beautiful hotel of the archipelago, dominates the city and offers an exceptional view of the ocean and the island of Tenerife dominated by the peak of the Teide.|
|Parador de San Sebastián de La Gomera|
|Address: Llano de la Horca 1 E - 38800 San Sebastián de la Gomera|
Phone: 00 34 922 871 100Set meals € 31.
The ideal place to discover the gastronomic specialties specific to the region.
|Torre del Conde|
|Address: Ruiz de Padrón 19 E - 38800 San Sebastian De La Gomera|
Phone: 00 34 922 870 000
Set meals € 13.
|Marqués de Oristano|
|Carrer Real, 24, San Sebastián de La Gomera.|
Phone: 00 34 922 872 909
Regional cuisine with a modern twist.